Forums

• All,

I wanted to post here because I think the nature of my comments exceeds the WIP section.

Recently, Rudi provided me with some very detailed feedback on a P-51 skin (the first I have attempted in a couple years).

In my business, we call this ?peer review?: detailed objective editorial comments. I am a University Professor. If I write an article I hope to publish, then colleagues will read it for me and give me detailed feedback as part of a revision process whose function is to raise the quality of the writing. ?Peer review? is a lot of work (A LOT OF WORK). And usually, peer review is something done for friends/colleagues. So, I was very pleasantly surprised to receive Rudi?s detailed remarks. While I am not part of Axis and Allies, I was made to feel I am.

Providing such detailed analysis (?Peer Review?)?like Rudi?s?says a good deal about the community and the mission at ?Axis & Allies Paintworks.? Obviously, he scrutinized my skin thoroughly, which takes time, work, patience. and also expertise. As a teacher, I appreciate good teaching. Rudi?s comments were thorough, detailed, explained clearly, and yet they were also very positive and supportive.

After two years, reacquiring my skills with Gimp has been going well, but what has come much slower is my self-editing skills. After studying something in detail for many hours, it is difficult to see it objectively. If I let the skin sit for a few weeks, which was my intention here, then I would regain some of the objectivity that I had lost. So, Rudi?s comments will very much shorten this process.

Hopefully, soon I will be able to start posting some skins again for people to download and enjoy, which I think is the whole point.

So, I want all of you guys to know that I appreciate what you do here.

Thanks Rudi.

Best,
    Lefty

• Well said! I also appreciate very much 'peer review'. I also learned alot of skinning techniques from this site in the short time I;ve been here.